2011 Cultural Policy Research Award awarded to Aleksander Brkić

Blog : Discussions and News
Auteur : Lidia Varbanova - Date : 15 Oct 2011, 21:43

Aleksander Brkić (Serbian, aged 31, University of Arts in Belgrade) is the winner of the 8th Cultural Policy Research Award 2011 (CPRA). He received the prize, worth €10,000 for the best proposal in applied, comparative, cross-cultural research in Europe, tonight during a festive ceremony at the 19th ENCATC Annual
conference in Helsinki.

Selected amongst 31 high-quality applications from 19 different countries of the wider European continent, Aleksander Brkić convinced the international jury with a research project which sets out to create cultural policy frameworks to (re)construct national and supranational identities in the Balkans.

“It was important to send a message to the young researchers community: that it is important to risk to find interesting topics useful for society in crisis moments”, said the CPRA Jury President Lluís Bonet (University of Barcelona, Spain).

The high profile international Jury is composed of Lluís Bonet (President), Milena Dragićević Šešić (University of Arts, Belgrade, Serbia), Ritva Mitchell (Cupore, Finland), Jacques Bonniel (Universite Lyon 2, France), Mikhail Gnedovsky (Cultural Policy Institute, Russia), Therese Kaufmann (eipcp, Austria) and Eleonora Belfiore (University of Warwick, UK).

“Being a finalist in this important circle of cultural policy researchers is a great honour. It is a good competition amongst really great people. It raises the profile of each one of us”, said the winner of this year’s Award, Aleksander Brkić. Alongside the Award winner, the five other shortlisted candidates in the running for the 10.000 Euros prize were: Caitriona Noonan (Ireland), Ana Rita Pereira Roders (Portugal), Thomas Perrin (France), Laura Pierantoni (Italy), and Arne Saeys (Belgium). Their research proposals covered topics as varied as world heritage, urban regeneration or regional development.

Launched by the European Cultural Foundation and the Swedish Riksbankens Jubileumsfond in 2004 to stimulate cultural policy research in Europe, and to enable talented, young (under 35) cultural policy researchers to take a step from evaluative (descriptive) to comparative applied research that can inform policymaking and benefit practitioners active in the field, the CPRA is developed in partnership with ENCATC and reflects ENCATC’s commitment to contribute to a competitive European Research Area.

During the 2011 CPRA Ceremony, the first Mark Schuster Prize, a new prize which aims to recognise the best recently published paper on comparative cultural policies presented by a young researcher, was awarded to Thomas Perrin (France) from the University Institute of European Studies in Spain.

The CPRA, the Young Cultural Policy Researchers Forum and the Mark Schuster Prize are part of a programme package in support of young cultural policy researchers. More information available at

Taggé comme:
CPRA, cultural policy



Seuls les membres inscrits peuvent ajouter un commentaire. Inscrivez-vous ou connectez-vous en haut de cette page.
Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires.
Check out job opportunities provided by Culture Jobs International